Community reacts to Hidalgo mayor TMs resignation

After 22 years, John David Franz announced he is stepping down as mayor of the City of Hidalgo.

Franz made the announcement during Tuesday night TMs city commission meeting at the Hidalgo City Hall.

I am stepping down to allow voters to decide on a new Mayor to lead the city, Franz said at the beginning of the city commission meeting.

He added his resignation is effective immediately, We TMre going to put it in the community TMs hands now. Let the city decide what type of leadership they want.

A noisy crowd of nearly 100 attendees greeted his decision with cheers and others with jeers.

Several people in attendance, including life-long Hidalgo resident Ashley Dillard, said they felt there was more to his decision.

"He took credit for everything and he hasn TMt been here for six meetings, she said. And then he shows up and he resigns. That TMs a good way to wash your hands off on everything and I just think that TMs very unprofessional."

Dillard said she was glad to hear Franz resigned, He doesn TMt live here. I TMm 27 and I TMve lived here all my live and I TMve never seen him live here.

But Franz rebuked those statements and said his absences were excused.

"My driver TMs license said 809 Texano since I was 16 years old, he said. I declare that as my permanent residence. I TMm going to be buried someday in Hidalgo."

However, Franz admitted that his decision was strategic.

Before announcing his resignation, he met with members of a group called Community United, whom he supports and endorses in the May elections.

Group members were at the meeting to return the support for the former mayor.

"We are sad to see him leave, Janie Melendez, a candidate for commissioner, told Action 4 News. However, we understand the reasoning behind him vacating his spot."

Franz said he will now focus on his law firm and his family, but also claimed that he will not leave Hidalgo city politics behind.

Voters in the City of Hidalgo will choose a mayor, as well as three commissioner seats during the elections on May 12.