Breakdown of UIL realignment, new high school football districts

Valley coaches were pleased with the UIL realignment

Rio Grande Valley football teams got a good deal for the next two years.

UIL officials announced the realignments for the 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 school years.

During a Monday morning meeting, coaches received word about the what districts their teams are in.

The big news is that there are no Laredo or Corpus Christi teams for the larger districts.

Coahes agree that it will cut down on travel time and expenses during the regular season.

UIL did change their classifications for schools.

Six-man teams will now be classified as 1A schools.

Schools previously classified as 1A are now 2A schools.

The changes continue all the way up.

Schools which are were formerly known as 5A, are now known as 6A.

Another other big change is that UIL officials eliminated the so-called "Week 0" of the high school football season.

Teams will now play from Week 1 to Week 11.

Here is the breakdown of the new districts:

District 30-6A La JoyaLa Joya Juarez-LincolnLa Joya PalmviewMcAllenMcAllen MemorialMcAllen RoweMission

District 31-6A EdinburgEdinburg EconomedesEdinburg NorthPSJA MemorialPSJA NorthWeslacoWeslaco East

District 32-6A Brownsville HannaBrownsville LopezBrownsville RiveraBrownsville VeteransHarlingenHarilngen SouthLos FresnosSan Benito

District 31-5A Edinburg VelaMission PioneerMission SharylandMission VeteransRio Grande CityRomaPharr Valley View

District 32-5A Brownsville PaceBrownsville PorterDonnaDonna NorthEdcouch-ElsaMercedesPSJAPSJA Southwest

District 16-4A Divsion I HidalgoKingsville KingLa FeriaLa GrullaZapata

District 16-4A Divsion II Corpus Christi West OsoOrange GrovePort IsabelProgresoRaymondvilleRio Hondo

District 16-3A Division I Aransas PassBishopFalfurriasLyfordSan DiegoSanta Rosa

District 16-3A Division II CotullaDilleyFreerHebbronvilleMonte Alto

District 16-2A Division I Ben Bolt-Palito BlancoCorpus Christi LondonLa VillaRiviera KauferSanta MariaThree Rivers