How Valley superintendents rank in salaries

PSJA ISD Superintendent Dr. Daniel King

A new investigative report is out detailing how much superintendents make in the State of Texas.

An investigation by the Texas Tribune shows that the highest paid superintendent in the Lone Star State is Carroll Thomas with the Beaumont ISD.

The report shows that Thomas makes more $334,212 dollars per year.

The Texas Tribune report analyzed as salaries and broke down how much superintendents got paid per student.

They got some surprising numbers in the state TMs rural districts.

The Texas Tribune reported that Houston ISD TMs Terry Grier earns $300,000 a year but gets $1.50 per student.

That's compared to Shirley Coleman with the 33-student San Vincente ISD inside Big Bend National Park who earns $100,000 or more than $3,000 per student.

Action 4 News took a look at the numbers for the Rio Grande Valley TMs 32 school districts.

Daniel King with the PSJA Independent School District is the Valley's highest paid superintendent with a $225,750 base pay salary.

King is followed by superintendents in Progreso, Weslaco, Brownsville in La Joya school districts.

Valley's Highest Paid Superintendents

Superintendent School District Base Salary

Daniel King PSJA ISD $225,750

Fernando Castillo Progreso ISD $208,566

Jose Rivera Weslaco ISD $200,492

Brett Springston Brownsville ISD $198,000

Alda Benavides La Joya ISD $194,842

The lowest paid superintendents are from La Villa, Lasara, Santa Maria, Monte Alto and San Perlita.

Valley's Lowest Paid Superintendents

Superintendent School District Base Salary

Norma Salaiz La Villa ISD $96,500

Manuel Pena Lasara ISD $94,448

Homero Garcia Santa Maria ISD $85,176

Gabriel Farias Monte Alto ISD $78,000

Albert Pena San Perlita ISD $40,533

The Texas Tribune reproted that San Perlita ISD"s superintendent is considered part-time and makes there makes $40,553 dollars a year.

Al link to the Texas Tribune TMs original report is available here.

Click here for a listing of all Valley school districts