Gov. Abbott issues disaster declaration for RGV counties

(Image Source: MGN online)

Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a State Disaster Declaration for six Texas counties impacted by severe flooding, including Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy.

Abbott has authorized the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions to aid in response efforts.

The governor went on to say in a statement:

"As severe weather and flooding continue to impact parts of Texas, our first priority is to ensure the safety of our fellow Texans in harm’s way. The State of Texas has activated all necessary resources to help respond to the ongoing severe weather, and we will continue to provide any assistance to local communities. I thank our first responders who are working to keep Texans safe, and I encourage all those in the affected regions to continue to heed all warnings from local officials.”

Other counties included in the disaster declaration are Aransas, Nueces and San Patricio.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off