UIL Realignment Creates Interesting Changes to RGV Districts


(CBS 4 Sports) - The University Interscholastic League announced the reclassification of Texas high schools for the next two school years this morning on their official website. The district alignments will be in effect starting with the 2018-19 academic year this fall.

In the 6A classification the Rio Grande Valley has three districts, but what will change is significant scheduling issues for the new 32-6A.

The new 32-6A has only six schools; Harlingen, Harlingen South, Brownsville Rivera, Brownsville Hanna, Los Fresnos and San Benito. Each school will have only five district games and will have to look outside the Rio Grande Valley for non-district games to fill out their 10 game schedules.

District 31-6A will include Donna North, which moves into 6A from the 5A classification, and all four Edinburg schools (Edinburg, Edinburg North, Vela and Economedes) along with Weslaco and Weslaco East.

The new 30-6A will have La Joya and Juarez-Lincoln competing against all three McAllen ISD schools (Mcallen, Memorial, Rowe) along with Mission High, PSJA and PSJA North. This moves the two PSJA schools away from the Edinburg schools.

The most significant change to the UIL Classification structure affects the 5A schools which will now be separated into 5A Division 1 and Division 2.

The larger 5A schools will compete in a newly formed District 16-5A1. This 10 team district will include four Brownsville squads (Lopez, Pace, Porter, Veterans), Donna High, who appealed to stay in 5A, La Joya Palmview who drops down from 6A, along with Mission Veterans, PSJA Memorial, PSJA Southwest and Rio Grande City. This will only allow these schools to have one district game in football. NOTE: Basketball districts will be different and will not be separated by divisions.

The smaller 5A schools will be placed in the new District 16-5A2. This district will hold Edcouch-Elsa, Mercedes, Sharyland, Pioneer, Valley View, Roma and Laredo Cigarroa.

In class 4A, Rio Grande Valley Schools will compete in two districts in two separate divisions as well. In the larger 4A's, District 16-4A1 will hold Hidalgo Early College, La Feria, Grulla Zapata and Kingsville King.

The smaller 4A, District 16-4A2 will consist of just four teams creating significant scheduling issues. Port Isabel, Progresso, Raymondville, Rio Hondo will be the only four schools in this district for football.

Meanwhile L yford will compete in Class 3A District 16 Division 1 with Aransas Pass, Bishop, Falfurrias, George West,Mathis,San Diego, and Santa Gertrudis Academy.

Santa Rosa and Monte Alto will be aligned with Banquete, Corpus Christi London, Hebbronville, Odem and Taft in District 16-3A Division 2.

La Villa and Santa Maria will compete in seperate Divisions in the 2A classification.

For all classification and alignments visit:

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off